Bye-Bye, Books?

Publishing is, sadly, going the way of the dinosaur. I wish it weren’t true: I love books! I love to read! I work in publishing! And yet… I have 3 magazine subscriptions, and the magazines never get read. I have 6 blog subscriptions, and they are nearly always read. I keep reading articles about how the way people read is changing, and I keep hating what I read. But there it is: it’s true even for me, self-avowed bookworm. I do most of my reading online.

It makes me a little sad. I’ve always looked forward to reading to my children and grandchildren, if I have any, and now I wonder — will they still be publishing children’s books when I have grandchildren? Will I have to read to them from a Kindle? Books will seem pathetically obsolete to them, like pay phones do to today’s youth. But I guess I should look on the bright side: wireless readers are self-lit and can be magnified (which I will need when I am old), and many, many trees could be saved. If they don’t cut them down anyway, to make a stuff mart.

Leave a Reply

