Volunteer Vacations

I’ve been looking for a new adventure, and I think a volunteer vacation might do the trick! Imagine: working on the renovation of a centuries-old house in southern France, working on an archaeological dig in England, or assisting marine biologists with their research.  I know some people will say, “That sounds like work, not vacation. No, thanks.” But, if you think about it, it’s such a great idea because not only do you get to visit a new place, but you’ll meet people who have similar interests yet are from diverse backgrounds, and you’ll learn new things about the field of work you’re volunteering in. I think it’s a fantastic idea. Through my research I discovered Earthwatch Institute, which organizes volunteer programs around environmental issues, Amizade Global Service Learning, and Oceanic Society, to name a few. There are so many opportunities, it was hard to narrow it down. However, since I’ve been itching to visit Spain, anyway, I applied to Pueblo Ingles. It’s a program for Spaniards who are learning English. My volunteer “work” will involve conversing with Spaniards – in English only – all day, while enjoying Spanish cuisine, music, and accomodations in picturesque places!  I think it sounds like a great time. It’s different from the other programs in that it is a business rather than a nonprofit organization, but I believe it’s still a great opportunity.

Leave a Reply

