Why I Like Rejection

When you’re looking for a job, even rejection can be a positive.  After a few (dozen) instances of completing an online application and attaching resumes and cover letters and references and hearing nothing in return, it is easy to believe that all that information is just landing in some great void. It’s easy to believe that no one ever sees it and no one cares and *sniffle sniffle sniffle* … 

This is why I like rejection.  “Look,” it says, “it wasn’t a great void after all! Someone did glance at your resume!”  I pay no mind to the fact that it also says that “they chose a candidate who better matched their qualifications.”  I’ll just move right along to the next opportunity.

Take, for example, the email I received from the University of Texas today. It was for a job as an online editor for the graduate school.  It read: “We regret to inform you that you were not the person selected for this job . . . but we encourage you to apply for other suitable opportunities . . . ”

Oh, don’t you worry, UT. I will do so. You haven’t seen the last of me! I shall be the squeaky wheel.

Leave a Reply

